top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatie

2018; At a Glance and What's To Come

I can't remember how 2018 began. I'm sure the new year was rung in at home and probably in bed before midnight. As an avid journal keeper, I'm sure it's documented. However, we won't dig too deep into the specifics of last year, but just lightly skim the surface in this blog post and then look forward into 2019.


Looking back on 2018 a lot of big changes happened. Some were in my control while others were up to the universe to make. It started out with a bang. I quit my job in corporate America as a high-level executive assistant for a Chinese based IT company. I learned that no matter what you do or are forced to do, it has to align with your personal values. And let's just say this wasn't a good fit. At all.


In April I was a free agent and ready to take my business and passions to the next level. I committed and acted. Attended one show/event a month where I was able to learn more about displaying my designs, marketing, but maybe most importantly networking. I met some really amazing people. 2018 also brought about some incredible collaborations with other entrepreneurs. I'm looking forward to growing those relationships and meet more amazing people who are as passionate about what they do than I am.



There was a great family vacation in the Outer Banks, camping on a school bus, several trips to and from New York. A lifelong dream of visiting California came true in October when I accepted the corporate world back. Even though my business was growing and sustaining itself pretty well, there are always personal expenses and responsibilities. Car, mortgage, student loans. However, when they approached me with the opportunity, I just couldn't walk away. It was way less stressful and had the flexibility I was looking for. Giving me time to work on my business and jewelry making, but also time to spend with my family and get back to the gym for a healthier lifestyle.




This brings us to the end of 2018 where things got tough and we experienced loss like never before. It was hard and difficult to accept, but deep down we knew it was for the best. It' times like these that really test your strength and make you appreciate what you have while you have it.


2019 is here now. And I'll be honest, I haven't written down any goals or action steps yet. I've been taking some time to think about what I want to do. About what's really important. To keep things short and sweet (unlike this blog post), I want to work on metal-smithing. Learn some new techniques. I want to slow down. Build a greenhouse and grow a garden. Enjoy the time that I have here and not be so hard on myself.


What about you? Is there something you want to accomplish in 2019?


-Katie


P.S. You can find Hammer and Heart on Instagram, Facebook and Twitter. And you can always reach me directly at info@hammerandheartboutique.com


13 views0 comments
bottom of page