top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatie

5 Tips For Your Craft/Art Show Preperation Checklist

Hey guys! This past Saturday I set up at my first show and it was a huge success! I've done a few shows in the past and have learned from every single experience. So I thought I would share 5 things that should be on your checklist.


  • Folding/Collabsable Furniture - When you have to fit your entire shop into a Mazda 3, you have to get a bit creative.

  • Tent Weights - You will thank me. These don't have to be anything fancy, just functional. Because the absolute last thing you want is your shop flying away.

  • Clamps - These can come in handle for a number of things. I use them to hold my table cloths in place.

  • Beverage of Your Choosing - Setting up and taking down is a workout. Make sure you have a waterbottle or small cooler with you!

  • Credit Card Machine/Cash - Be sure to have both! I found a majority of people used card rather than cash. If you have a card reader, be sure it works properly and everyone helping you out, knows how to use it.


I've done a few shows in the past and have merchandising experience, but setting up outdoors is a whole other level of challenging. With every show, I've learned. The wind has taught me that investing in tent sides will save your blood pressure in the long run. However, it got pretty hot in there with the sides.


Every show is a learning experience. And I'm excited to keep learning! If you have any questions regarding craft/art show set up, please comment below! Or if you have any trick of your own, please share with us!


"The best preperation for tomorrow is by doing your best today" -H. Jackson Brown

Thank you to everyone who came out to the Live and Local Spring Fest on Hillsborough Street last Saturday! My next event will be on the Carolina Blues Festival in Greensboro, NC on May 19-20th. Stop by and say hi!


-Katie



15 views0 comments
bottom of page