top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatie

Behind The Scenes; The Office

Do you ever wonder what goes on behind the scenes? Who manages the website, how do orders get filled, where is everything made? In this post, hopefully I'll answer most of your questions!

As a small business owner, I wear many hats. Web designer, fashion buyer, social media marketing, event coordinator, etc. You name it, I do it. The spare bedroom in my house currently serves as the headquaters of Hammer and Heart.



Computer Space

I spend a lot of time here. Answering emails, managing the website and creating/editing content.


The Design Table

This is probably my favorite place. All the jewelry currently featured on Hammer and Heart is made right here. I source my materials from a number of places. Local shops/markets are my favorite places to find supplies. Flea markets are a great place to find vintage pieces to use for pieces. I've hung a giant piece of peg board on one wall, so all my tools are easily accessable while working. And of course Pinterest has some awesome ideas for peg boards!



Photo Studio

Taking quality photos of your work is very important. And the best part is, it doesn't take much to achieve! I made a light box using some white foam board and a hot glue gun. I highly suggest investing in good lighting and a decent camera. I'm definitely not a professional photographer, but I'm learning as I go! I'll do a seperate blog postspecifically on this set up.


Brainstorming/Storage Room

Space is hard to come by. Which is why I am working from my home. I can save cost and the commute is great! Just take a left out of my bedroom, up the stairs and your there! I use most of the other space in my office to prep for shows and storage.


I hope you enjoyed the mini tour of my office. This is where I come to unwind. To create.


-Katie

33 views0 comments
bottom of page