top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatie

Discover the Process of Creating Custom Jewelry


What I love most about my job is when someone approaches me with an idea and asks, "Can you make this"



Maybe they're looking to have a custom piece of jewelry made for a special occasion such as an anniversary, a birthday, or upcoming holiday. Maybe they can't seem to find what they're looking for in any store or perhaps they need several pieces made. Gifts for bridesmaids, co-workers or extended family members. Whatever the reason is, as a designer, I love the opportunity to work one on one with someone and create a unique piece of handcrafted jewelry for someone special.


Having a piece of jewelry specially made ensures that there is only one piece like it in the entire world. It is 100% unique. Made by the hands of a person with passion and love for their craft.


I'm currently working on a custom order which is what inspired me to write this post. A local Raleigh woman reached out to me after reading the article about Hammer and Heart in the News and Observer. A deeper emotional connection was made because her maiden name is Hammer and she thought how awesome would it be to have something made by this business!? I can't agree more. And as a small business owner/entrepreneur herself, she loves to support others who are following their hearts and dreams. Her request was to make six pieces; one for herself, her two daughters, her mother, sister and cousin. I jumped on this opportunity because I knew it would be a challenge and push my creativity.






You may be wondering how exactly the process works. What do you have to do to have such a piece/pieces made? And if your thinking, oh it's to much work, trust me, you have the easy part! I'm going to walk you through the painless process of working with a designer to have a piece of jewelry handmade.


Step 1: Find a Jewelry Designer

Depending on what materials you want used on your piece, search for someone who is skilled in working with those.


Step 2: Discuss Your Idea and Schedule a Meeting

Prior to the meeting I like to ask the client what they are looking for so that I can prep some sketches. Then schedule a date/time to sit down and discuss the design. During this meeting, I like to ask a lot of questions regarding materials, sizing, construction, etc. With all this information, I go back and tweak the sketches to come up with a final design.


Step 3: Create the Piece

During this step, you get to sit back and relax as the designer creates the piece. I like to confirm the final design/s, source materials if needed and provide pricing before moving forward with production. There shouldn't be any unanswered questions at this point.


Step 4: Delivery

Depending on the distance and circumstances, the final piece/pieces will either be shipped directory to you, available for pickup, or hand delivered.


Now that you know the process and how easy it is, why would you ever go to back to that big box retailer when you can have something made by someone that loves creating? To shop my selection of handcrafted jewelry, visit www.hammerandheartboutique.com. If you have an order inquiry please don't hesitate to email me at info@hammerandheartboutique.com or call 315.744.7498.



-Katie

8 views0 comments
bottom of page