top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatie

The Struggle of the Creative Process


Every designer/maker/creator has their own process; what those on the outside looking in don't see, is the internal struggle the creative mind must overcome.


Have you ever seen a painting hanging somewhere and wondered how was it made? Who made it? What was the process that person had to go through to bring it to life?



If you Google search, the creative process, you'll find a very interesting chart pop up; illustrating the process "which explains how an individual can form seemingly random thought into an ideal combination or solution". Preparation, incubation, illumination, evaluation and implementation.


If only it were that easy. Personally, the process can sometimes feel like this...



As I continue this creative journey, I'm learning how to deal with and push past these boundaries. But it's not easy. There are days when I constantly question myself. What am I doing? Is my work even good enough? And these questions can sometimes be debilitating. Stopping me in my tracks and bringing about a wave of intense fear. However, I've learned that there are things I can do to help get through these moments. Below are some tips/tricks I've developed over the years. Hopefully they can help you!


Go Outside

Sometimes when I'm stuck on something or it isn't turning out how I planned, stepping away from it can help. I like to go outside, because the fresh air and North Carolina sunshine always brightens my spirits. Talking a walk, pulling weeds, or working in the garden will take my mind of whatever it was. Then I can return with a fresh perspective.


Clean/Organize

I know I'm weird because I love to clean. But it's a great way for me, personally, to relieve stress. And when I'm done, the house looks and smells great. I like to stop what I'm going and go make the bed or do some laundry. Sometimes by organizing my work space, I come across something I could use on the project. I don't like to think of it as procrastination, because I believe the creative process requires time and it can't be rushed.


Don't Let Perfectionism Stop You

This was my biggest problem. Artists are their own worst critics. When I look at a piece I've created I always see something that could have been done differently, or a little piece that doesn't perfectly line up, but your know what, it doesn't matter. You just have to go for it. Even if you feel like it's only 80% there. Because it may never be 100% and that's okay.


There are so many other things you can do to help you along your creative process. Read a good book. Go out and have a drink with a friend. Find an inspirational podcast. Whatever is it, don't lose faith in yourself. Because you and your ideas are valuable.


Hopefully you found these tips helpful! To follow my creative journey, be sure to subscribe. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to reach out! info@hammerandheartboutique.com is where you can reach me directly or on any of Hammer and Heart's social media platforms.


-Katie





"The creative process is a process of surrender, not control"

-Julie Cameron




14 views0 comments
bottom of page